Meet The Press

 

Saturn Villaluna

IMG_3492

My name’s Saturn and I’m 17. I have been involved in Youth in Government for 4 years now, and this is my third of being an officer. Youth in Government is something I always look forward to, and I will be sad to leave since this is my last year. I am truly thankful for all of the experiences YIG has brought me. I found my place in Press, and it has definitely improved my writing skills. What I have learned from Press will continue to benefit my future.

Eli Loyd

IMG_3491

Girl the way you’re movin’

Got me in a trance, DJ turn me up

Ladies dis yo jam (c’mon)

I’ma sip Moscato

And you ‘gon …

Then I’ma throw this money while you…

Girl …

I love the way …

All I want to do is sit back and watch you move

And I’ll proceed to throw this cash

Anamaree Dranes

IMG_3490I love totchos (tot-nachos from Sonic).

Comfort Markwei

IMG_3493

Hey guys, it’s me, Comfort Markwei! I am a first-generation Ghanian-American and have two younger siblings. Currently, I am a sophomore at Central Magnet. Within my school, I am the soccer manager and the Vice President of Key Club. I’m involved in band, first priority club, beta club, and debate club, all while being the secretary of my school’s Youth in Government and Model UN club. At Youth in Government, I am currently the Press print blog editor, and I am running for speaker white house. I love Youth in Government and I am happy that I ended up doing press because I love it so much!

Grayson Perry

IMG_3496

I’m a senior at Clarksville Academy, I play baseball and I am a member of the National Honors Society. This is my first time at Youth In Government and I wish I could repeat my grade just to come back to YIG. Not really because high school was a challenge in itself, but any chance I could get I would love to come back. Press was said to be easy but this group is making sure that Press will never be viewed as an easy course again. I am able to pop in and out of court sessions being able to hear different bills and sessions. I really love the Press.

Yaire Portillo

IMG_3495I’m Yaire Portillo. I am a community-driven student that plans to attend college in the upcoming fall. As an aspiring Mathematics teacher, I have taken into my own hands to introduce myself in highly vocal activities. YIG has taught me to fear no one or anything. Criticism is nothing but support. Being able to see empowering students contribute their time to bettering future generations is one of many inspirations to educate such individuals. Besides all that, I enjoy spending time in beautiful photogenic locations and spending time with friends and family.

Lesly Urbina

IMG_3482I’m Lesly Urbina, a senior at Collegiate. I was born and raised in Memphis. This is my second year at YIG. I really enjoy drawing and designing in my free time. Overall, I’m really excited about YIG 2020 and being in Press corp!

Rachel WalpoleIMG_3481My name is Rachel Walpole and I am a sophomore at Lebanon High School. I’m part of Beta Club, badminton and Youth In Government. I discovered my love of researching and journalism while doing a research project in middle school.

Vivienne Ayres

session 1-11

I’m currently a senior at Independence High School and this is my first year at YIG! Next year, I’ll be majoring in Broadcast Journalism and Documentary, so I’m very excited to continue to work in Press.

Erin Craven

IMG_8291

Heeey I’m Erin … this is all I’ve got but check out some of the articles I’ve written :))

Rosario Gomez

20200228153418_IMG_9113It’s Rosario but you can call me Rose 🙂 and I love cheesecake.

Whit Barrett

IMG_3478Hi, my name is Whit! I’m from Smyrna High, and I’m a seventeen-year-old junior. My favorite colors are pastels and I love video games. I really like reading dystopian novels and anything regarding aquatic life. I also really love plants! 

Bailey Coleman

IMG_3489

Hey y’all my name is Bailey Coleman and I am currently Senior at Clarksville Academy. I have attended 3 MUN and 2 YIG conferences. YIG has probably been one of my favorite conferences out of the two. Along with participating in these two conferences, I am in Interact club, FCA, Media Club, and I work at Chick-Fil-A. Sadly, this is my last conference as a fellow delegate, but I can’t wait to see everyone next year as conference staff. I am planning to attend Belmont University in the Fall. Nashville is one of my favorite places to be in. My favorite food is mac and cheese, my favorite color is purple, and I can play the ukulele. 

Shannon Craddock 

IMG_3477

Hi, my name is Shannon. I am 17, and a senior at Independence High School. This is my first year doing YIG, and I am bittersweet about it. While I have had a lot of doing Press, I am glad and am super sad that I haven’t done it beforehand. YIG has given me the experience of doing photojournalism and the ability to meet so many rad people. Doing YIG has been an amazing experience, and I couldn’t have asked for a better group of people to work with.

Carmen Witt

IMG_3487

Hello, my name is Carmen Witt, and I’m a member of the YIG press and a sophomore at Collierville High School. I’m passionate about writing, self-expression, mental health, human rights, and many other things. This is my first year doing YIG; I’m very grateful for this experience and be a part of something powerful and important. I’m lucky to be surrounded by so many great minds. It’s nice to meet you, and I hope to see you around and hopefully at a YIG conference next year!

Karli Overholt

IMG_3486You like D&D, Fiona Nova, Rooster Teeth, Travis McElroy, and sewing. You can’t focus, you can’t sing, and you don’t know karate. Face it, you’re never gonna make it. Well, I don’t wanna make it, I just wanna…. Have fun. As an absolute nerd, I know many references, and 99% of my thoughts are just outdated memes. First-year press member, second year at YIG, I love the work I’m doing and enjoy getting to get information out into the world.

Maia Fell

IMG_3485

I have always enjoyed taking pictures. This year I wanted to join YIG in Press corps. My brother, Ethan Fell is the governor of the year 2020. As my brother’s hard work grew, my first year began and I enjoyed making new friends and talking with my friend group.

Milo Jacobson

IMG_3483I have two dogs, soon to be three, and hopefully someday a snake. I come from a military family, and my dad is an ER doctor. My mom is a software designer and artist. I like drawing, reading, animating, and scavenging for mushrooms and mossy trash in the woods. I’m a freshman at Clarksville Academy.

Gekayla Shumake

IMG_8293My name is Gekayla Shumake. I am seventeen years old and grew up in Chattanooga, Tennessee.  I am currently a senior at East Ridge High School. My hobbies include painting, completing puzzles, and listening to music. I love Youth in Government because it made me interested in civics and government. Before attending the conference I didn’t pay much attention to the government but the conference makes learning about it fun and interesting. I also enjoy hearing everyone’s opinions on social and economic issues. It’s comforting to know that the future of our state is in such good hands

Abby Hill

20200228114042_IMG_9065Heyyyy! My name is Abby, and I am a sophomore at Mount Juliet High! This is my first YIG, and I’m loving every second of it. I am extremely involved within my school community, but most of all have a huge compassion for others. I am constantly striving to be a light and make others feel heard. 

Megan Salmons

20200229115741_IMG_9234Megan Salmons, senior at Signal Mountain. I love my dogs, cheesy movies, and chai lattes. My favorite restaurant is California Pizza Kitchen. I plan to study computer science and cybersecurity next year.

Celeste Davis

IMG_3484

This is my fourth year at YIG at the high school level (seventh including middle school), but this is my first year in Press. I wanted to join as I had developed an interest in photography over the past two years and I’m glad I did as I am having a great time! It’s nice to be able to walk around and see how hard all of the components are working, not just my own. My only regret is not joining Press sooner.

Daryl Mitchell

IMG_3480Heyo! I’m Daryl Mitchell, I am a freshman at Lebanon high school! I love to socialize and meet new people! My favorite thing to do is listen to music and hangout with friends!! I am very active in many clubs like yig, beta, and student council! I also really like chicken:)

Cora Power

img_0996My name is Cora Power! I’m a Senior at Mt. Juliet High School. This is my first year at YIG and I’m having so much fun! I’ve always loved photography and Press has allowed me to use my love for photography to share with everyone how much fun YIG can be!

Axel Aguilar

IMG_3494Hiiii babes!!! My name is Axel Aguilar, and I am a senior from Hillwood Highschool. This is my first and last year at Youth in Government, and I am sad, but very excited. I wanted to do press because of the love I have for photography. I also enjoy talking to people, especially when it comes to meeting new people. As of now, Youth in Government has given me the opportunity to meet people from different schools and get better at taking photos, which is one of my greatest passions. I am beyond excited to see what this upcoming weekend has for me, and I am very grateful to have the opportunity to be part of 67th Youth in Government Conference.

Milla Plum Kicinski

20200228113830_IMG_9056Hi lovelies! My name is Milla Plum Kicinski, I’m a junior at Hillwood High School, and this is my first year at YIG. I have always been creative, so getting the chance to attend such an impactful and special event while being able to capture it all is such an amazing experience and honor. I am so glad that I am getting to spend time with my friends and make new ones. I can’t wait to attend next year!

Evelyn Salmeron

IMG_3488Hey! I’m Evelyn Salmeron, I’m a senior at Glencliff High and I’ve been to YIG 4 times.I love the YIG conference because it gives me an outlet to meet new friends and to learn new things. A little about me is I love my husky puppy Zero and my favorite place to eat is Baja Burrito (:

Analese Lytle

20200228114557_IMG_9086Hello everyone! My name is Analese Lytle and I am currently a senior at Hillwood Highschool. This is my third and final year at Youth In Government, and my second year in Press! It’s probably really basic, but my favorite animal has always been a sea turtle. My favorite colors have changed over the years, but currently I love light blue. I’m involved in a lot, but my favorite things to participate in are Theater, Choir, and of course Youth In Government! I can’t wait to use the knowledge and communication skills I have learned from YIG to further my education in college and hopefully achieve my goal to be involved in the film industry!

Addie Stafford

IMG_3476

Hi! My name is Addie Stafford and I’m a senior at Mount Juliet High School. This is my first year at YIG and I’m so grateful to get this experience before graduation. I’m heavily involved in the arts and AudioVisual production, so Press has been such a great opportunity for me to expand my practice!

Elizabeth Vung 

IMG_8305Hi! My name is Elizabeth Vung. I am currently a senior at Glencliff high school. I’m an introvert whose life long dream is to become a successful performer and help others in need. Being in YIG has taught me many things and has gotten me out of my comfort zone to just go out there. I’m very blessed and thankful to be able to attend YIG this year (I regret not doing it my previous years). I’d like to thank the press officers and my fellow press mates for being very helpful and kind. THANKYOU!

Huong Trinh

IMG_8300 Hello, my name is Huong Trinh. I am currently planning to attend Belmont University in the upcoming fall semester and I aspire to become an optometrist in the future. I love to meet and interact with new people so joining YIG was so eye-opening.

Leave a Comment