An Interview with Lawyers Domonique Woods and John Morris

Destini Hampton –

Sketch of Domonique Woods (left) and John Morris (right) by Paige Fernandez

The Tennessee YMCA Youth in Government Conference is not all about presenting and passing bills. We also have lawyers fighting for cases. I was fortunate enough to interview one of the lawyer teams. I met with Domonique Woods (DW) and John Morris (JM) to learn more about them and their position. 

DH: State your grade, school, and position.

DW: I am a senior, I go to Lookout Valley Middle/High School, and I am a lawyer in the Supreme Court.

JM: I’m also a senior at Lookout Valley High School and I am also a lawyer in the Supreme Court.

DH: Have you guys done YIG before?

DW: Yes, this is my second year doing YIG; I did YIG my sophomore year.

JM: Yes, this is my fourth and final year.

DH: Alright, can you guys explain what you do in the Supreme Court?

DW: [In] the lawyer position you basically argue a case, whether you are an appellee or appellant and the Supreme Court Justices decide on the case.

JM: We basically argue the same case for about fourteen rounds. We argue both sides against two different teams … arguing using different pieces of case law to determine and help convince the Justices that this side is more correct, whether that is the appellant or the appellee.

DH: Why did you guys choose to be on the Supreme Court?

JM: I always wanted to do lawyer just because it was sort of something I got dragged into by someone who graduated a long time ago, but they encouraged me to do this because they were one of the justices when they went to my school. So, I joined and now I’ve just been doing it for a really long time.

DW: Well, my sophomore year was my first year of doing YIG and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do a bill or some other component, and I was convinced by someone in my grade that year to do it along with him, and this is my second time doing it with him.

DH: What is your favorite part of YIG so far?

DW: My favorite part of YIG would have to be feeling like little adults just walking around Nashville, completing all these things that people in our government do.

JM: Yeah, it’s always nice to go around Nashville in a much more relaxed state and do things that are actually enjoyable and being places that you normally don’t get to be.

DH: Have you guys argued a case yet? If you did, how did it go?

DM: We did already do our part of the argument. We represented the appellee side and, luckily for us, we won our case.

JM: There were some comments the Justices made that we needed to improve on; there are certain pieces of case law we should probably expand on more that we cited. But overall, we won our case really well.

DH: What do you guys think is the real world significance of your position?

DM: I feel like being a part of YIG gives you insight into what actually goes on in our government, and a lot of the people who participate in YIG will go on to help Tennessee and make big changes in the world, and this is just a stepping stone to get them there.

JM: And, to kind of expand on that, even if the students here don’t go into government or law, or any form of it, it’s a good way to give them experience to know how everything works, to get them to see how the government functions and see how it would move on.

DH:  Thank you guys for your time, good luck on your future cases.

Leave a Comment