Mischief Managed: Interview with Head Lobbyist Grace Harris

Interview by Jayln Hodge Shaw

After Governor Severn  announced his focus for a few dynamic legislation bills as well as the docket for the White, Blue, and Red legislatures, Lobbyist went to work. Lobbyists are tasked with advocating for individuals by using their influence to sway political decisions. It may be true that Lobbyists have special skills to get legislation passed that align with the Governor’s focus, but the goal is to get some information on the steps these members take to reach their goals. 

JHS: What’s the best way for a Lobbyist to stir up trouble?

GH :I won’t get too into my antics, but I am able to work with people on the inside to pass information concerning legislation.

JHS: When an individual finds a bill that they find significant and has the potential to make a dynamic legislation, what is the process a lobbyist undergoes? 

GH: Dynamic legislation is typically a bill that we like that has a logistical issue that prohibits it from being passed and enacted into the budget. This is the case when a bill doesn’t contain proficient wording that is needed to address the issues the legislation is meant to target especially if the diction weakens the objective of the bill’s author. When this kind of setback occurs, lobbyists create a draft addressing the sections they deem necessary and then they go into chambers to find delegates who are either strong presenters or are the original authors of the bill to present the new legislation.

JHS: Does every lobbyist have to agree with the bills that are going to be sponsored?

GH: As a group we would delegate and depending on the severity of the differences among us we would go from there. It is very common for lobbyists to be working on separate issues for different causes, but right everyone is united to complete the agenda we have set out for dynamic legislation and what we want to see in the budget. I have been blessed with my lobbyist as we are all like minded and we all came in with the same energy which has made it easy to get everyone on the same page.

JHS: How do you work out the kinks to fit in the number of bills that are paid to be endorsed and the bills that are being sponsored?

GH: We have had a few people come to us to sponsor their bills and we use these cute little note cards to share messages that contain information about pro or con questions that give them details to pass the bill based on x,y,z.

JHS: How did you become Head Lobbyist?

GH: Great question. Last year I wanted to run for White Speaker of the House and unfortunately, I didn’t get to run. I wanted to be an officer and instead I applied to be a lobbyist. There were five of us who had never done any lobbying and our head lobbyists at the time, Kaid, had been a lobbyist during Covid so none of us really had any idea of what was going on. We were trying to figure out what was going on and find a way to do something cool for the conference. That year there was a great deal of discussion concerning what we could do to make an impact and this year is more focused on making the change to put the legislation in place. I became Head Lobbyist through my component by putting my name in the running. There were two candidates for the position and I found I won at the closing ceremony. Big moment for me!

JHS: What is your goal by the end of the conference?

GH: That’s a big question that I have been thinking about a lot because I have set little goals for the end of each session for myself to keep Lobbyists accountable. My ending goal is I want everyone to feel like they have accomplished something significant because everyone is focusing on different projects so I want everyone to feel like they have contributed to the budget.

JHS: What’s your favorite part of YIG?

GH: My consistent favorite is Tomfoolery, but my recent favorite is getting to walk behind Will since I don’t have any other officers, I’m the lone officer. So the order is Will, Maya, and then me. I feel so special!

Leave a Comment